16 December 2010

AGU honors retiring editors and presents 2010 William Kaula Award

Posted by mohi

The Editors Dinner was held Monday night in Victor’s and Alexander’s on Imperial Floor (the 32nd floor) of the Westin St. Francis. The view of San Francisco’s nightscape was magnificent!

The dinner, hosted by the Publications Committee,  gave the editors and associate editors a chance to socialize and unwind with colleagues.  Several retiring editors were recognized for their service to AGU, including Hasan Virji and Manuel Grande (Eos); Meinrat Andreae (Global Biogeochemical Cycles); Anne Mueller  (Geophysical Research Letters), Bruno Tremblay and Robert Weisberg (JGR-Oceans); Robert Carlson (JGR-Planets); Michael Church (JGR-Earth Surface); Joseph Borovksy, Ralf Haese, Robert B. Jackson, Thomas Nicholson, Andrew Nyblade, Darrell Strobel, and Paul David Williams (Books Board).

The highlight of the evening was the presentation of the 2010 William Kaula Award for Publication Service to George Hornberger for unselfish service to the scientific community through extraordinary dedication to, and exceptional efforts on behalf of the Union’s publications program. In his presentation speech, AGU President Michael McPhaden noted that Hornberger was an especially worthy recipient for helping to guide AGU’s Publications Program though its most arduous transition to electronic publishing.  In accepting the award, Hornberger recalled several warm memories of that time and stated that he was most honored for the recognition.

From comments that were overhead as people left the dinner it was obvious that a good time was had by all!

–Jeanette Panning, AGU Publications