Advertisement

You are browsing the archive for 2009 September 29.

29 September 2009

Quake and Tsunami in Samoa

The BBC is reporting the death toll rising in Samoa tonight, from the massive quake earlier in the day. The quake registered 8.3 with a very shallow depth of 18km. A quake that strong and that shallow can produce deadly tsunamis and is capable of great destruction. The quake hit at 17:48 GMT. This is 1:48pm U.S. East Coast time, and 6:48pm in London. This was 6:48am Wednesday in American …

Read More >>

No Comments/Trackbacks >>


Swimming At The Pole & American Climate Literacy (or lack of same)

The Guardian newspaper has a story on American climate illiteracy. Being on air, and talking about climate change, I suspect it’s correct. Some of the comments I get after writing or airing something related to climate science truly amaze me. Worth a read: Now watch this incredible video of the first ever swim at the North Pole. I can tell you first hand that you cannot imagine how cold that …

Read More >>

No Comments/Trackbacks >>